RSS

Questions About Religion

13 Jun

I have always been curious about each, of the many different religions, as I can’t say that there has been one that I can agree on all that it believes. I know many Catholics and began there, in my quest of which religion was right for me. I made an appointment with the Monsignor of a local Catholic church, to see if he could answer a few of the questions I had. First, I asked him why it was that they consider babies to be born with original sin. He said that it went way back to when Eve ate the forbidden apple in the garden of Eden, and as a result, the gates of heaven were closed to all souls. Then I asked him why Jesus was crucified, why God allowed that to be done to his only son, he responded by saying that it had to be done, he had to be sacrificed so that we all had the chance to be saved, to get into heaven! I didn’t feel that it made any sense, if Jesus died for our sins, so that the worthy could get into heaven, then how could babies be born with original sin? I also wondered why the Catholics make the sign of the cross over their chests upon entering the church. The Monsignor said that they just do it out of respect, pretty much. But, the bible states for men to do their alms in private, not in public for the benefit of others seeing! And what really confuses me, is why the Catholics have so many prayers, to so many different saints, and why all the prayers to Mary, along with the hail Mary stuff? He had no clear answers to that one, but the bible states that God is a very jealous God, and there shall be no others before him. Aren’t prayers said to Gods?

Okay, so I have some tough questions and I’m sure for many of them, there really aren’t any answers, but I’d like to at least make sense of some of it all. Like when Jesus was on the cross with the two criminals beside him, the one man said that if Jesus really was the son of God, then save himself, and them! The other criminal told him that they were getting what they deserved, but that Jesus had done no wrong, then he said to Jesus to remember him when he came into his kingdom. Jesus responded, “Today thou shalt be with me in paradise”.  Fast forward to Mary when she saw Jesus outside of the tomb where he was laid to rest, he told her, “Touch me not, for I have not yet ascended unto my father”. Where was he for three days? Where did he go?

The Jehovah’s Witnesses beliefs don’t make sense to me either, some of them that is. Life is a gift, so why is it they do not believe in celebrating birthdays? They don’t believe in the sign of the cross, stating that Jesus died on a stake,okay, perhaps he did, but what does that matter? He was crucified for our sins, period, whether it was on a post, a cross, an iron rod, it doesn’t change it. The fact that they do not believe in saluting the flag, well, that’s kind of a sensitive thing for me. I can actually understand in part, why they don’t, it has nothing to do with whether or not a person is proud of their country, I think it’s more of what it stands for. There have been so many wars throughout history, so much fighting, constant conflict. Sure, we can be proud of our soldiers, themselves, but since Obama has taken over our Government, I think there are record numbers of people who are not proud, so many of our young sons that had their whole lives ahead of them, are dead. Why? Because we have always had a habit of sticking our noses in where they don’t belong, and not sticking it in there, when we should have! But the major dissatisfaction with Obama is for another post.

I can’t really say a whole lot about the Jewish faith, because I don’t know a whole lot about their beliefs. But, are they, or aren’t they the ones who crucified Jesus? Or was Jesus himself, a Jew, I know they called him king of the Jews, but I don’t know if that was sarcasm. I never could get a clear cut answer on that one, it changes with each person you ask.

Finally, there is the church of Jesus Christ the Latter Day Saints, better known as the Mormons. I do know a bit about them. I fully believe that they got a bad rap through the years, from these branch off sects that call themselves Mormons! You cannot, in good faith partake of the sacrament, if you drink coffee, smoke or drink alcohol. They believe that your body, your gift from God, is your temple, which you should take care of. Many of the members can their own food, and have a certain period of times, food stocked just in case. That really does seem like a logical, good thing to do I guess. A question I asked was, if a person is not an ax murderer, though certainly not a saint, then the person isn’t worthy of going to the same place as the saint, but isn’t vile enough to go where the murderer is going, where does that soul go when it leaves this world! That’s when I found out that the Mormons believe that there are different kingdoms of heaven. Being totally unbiased, I will say this though for the Mormons,they help each other, and those outside of the faith, like no one I’ve ever seen. When there have been disasters, like hurricane Katrina, they donated more than you could believe, the difference with them, and most of the other donating sources though, was that they did not publicize it anywhere, they feel that if you are helping others out, it should be because it’s the right thing to do. If you do it for bragging rights, then it was done to help yourself, it takes away from what you’ve done!

I’ll continue learning about the different religions, since I would love to find the right one for me, but I don’t believe that only one particular religion or church will be saved. I truly believe that your so called religious beliefs come from within yourself, that if you’re a good person, through and through, then you will be rewarded after you leave this life. Who knows, maybe we are all reincarnated and the evil ones will come back as snakes or something! Who knows, all I know is that I do, wholeheartedly believe in God, I know he is real, he exists. You notice how whenever someone is in a serious, life threatening situation, even if they don’t necessarily believe in God, they pray for his help! Then, when God intervenes, they stop the praying and it’s back to business as usual, yet when they get into trouble again, they remember God. It’s like a friend that you only call when you need their help with something, but you never call them just to thank them for all that they have done for you! It’s certainly something to think about!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 13, 2013 in Personal Stories

 

Leave a Reply

 
